Security - Group tidying users Departments

From All n One's bxp software Wixi

Jump to: navigation, search

This article is a guideline to help bxp software (bxp) System Champions to tidy up users and departments quickly. This process is suitable for systems of users up to 500 users. For systems with greater than 500 users, please contact support@allnone.ie and we can facilitate other methods of mass user updates.


1 Step 1. Figure out internally what Departments you want to have / use

Departments can be team lead names or logical business units, the most important thing is to use departments as a guide for billing. By billing we mean that if a business unit was going to have to pay for the user cost which department would that fall to. If the department in this concept is too large, then scale it to the business units within that department.

When you have the department names / team lead names you would break the users into, then we go into bxp to do the changing.


2 Step 2. Update the departments

When you get a brand new system there are two departments already created

  1. General
  2. All n One

Your sales person / business development manager will add a third appropriate to your company.

General is the default department and cannot be removed.

All n One is a logical grouping for the All n One staff members you may required to log in and provide support on the system

All other departments are available to edit / delete. You can manage your departments through the following functions

  • Main Menu > System Access Management > System Management > Department - Add
  • Main Menu > System Access Management > System Management > Department - Edit
  • Main Menu > System Access Management > System Management > Department - Delete

Just clicking edit will give you a list of all the departments in the system already ready for editing.

Go into each department and rename as required. Add new ones as required and delete ones no longer needed.

When you click Main Menu > System Access Management > System Management > Department - Profile and all your planned departments are listed then please continue.

For reference purposes, please do not rename "General" or "All n One" departments. You can but it will make understanding the tutorials and training more difficult. The system however is completely customisable by you.


3 Step 3. Move all the users to General

The next step is to move all the users to the general department.

  1. Main Menu > System Access Management > System Management > Group User - Modify Details
  2. You are given a lookup screen. Type nothing in and click "Lookup User" and all users will be returned.
  3. From the top drop down list choose "Department"
  4. From the second drop down list choose "General"
  5. Choose all users other than the users in the All n One department. You can click the "Select All - X" buttons to select all the tick boxes for the users in the department. This saves a lot of individual clicking.
  6. At the bottom click "Save and continue"

At this stage all users will be in the "All n One" or "General" department.


4 Step 4. Moving the users into their departments

Now we can move the users into their correct departments.

Same as step 3 up to a point

  1. Main Menu > System Access Management > System Management > Group User - Modify Details
  2. You are given a lookup screen. Type nothing in and click "Lookup User" and all users will be returned.
  3. From the top drop down list choose "Department"
  4. From the second drop down list choose the name of the department you want to move people into.
  5. Choose all the users you want to be in that department
  6. At the bottom click "Save and continue"

Repeat this process until there are no users left in the General department.


5 Conclusion

Following this general process can work for many types of updates, not just departments. Cost Centre, Role, security permissions and many more options can be controlled from in here.


If you need any further help with this process please contact us at support@allnone.ie