Bxp Basic Terms

From All n One's bxp software Wixi

Jump to: navigation, search

1 bxp

This document provides a number of terms that are used frequently in conjunction with the operation of bxp.


1.1 bxp Terms

The flagship product of All n One is a pure SaaS solution called bxp software or bxp for short. You must be connected to the Internet and use a browser to use bxp.


bxp Client. An organisation that has purchased an instance of bxp.


User. An individual who uses bxp.


Module. A set of related functionality grouped together for convenience. bxp has a number of modules available to bxp clients, some of which are mandatory. For example, System Access Management which contains all the system security functions.


Section. A subsection within a module where the grouping of functionality is further grouped, for convenience.


Function. An individual operational activity within a section.


System Champion. A person or persons within the bxp Client organisation who have primary responsibility for the management of bxp and its content. Users within the bxp client requiring help will be directed to the System Champion.


New functions and revisions of bxp are introduced relatively frequently whilst major version changes are only releases are infrequent and occur generally annually. The bxp Release (bxpR) details are on every page at the bottom of every bxp screen. When a significant number of small changes are collated for release, these are collectively referred to a Service Enhancement Release (SER). Release and version details are found at the foot of every bxp page.


1.2 bxp Elements

1.2.1 Welcome Email

A Welcome Email is sent to users when their bxp account is created. It contains key details to assist the user with their login and the system can generate and send a welcome email whenever required.


NOTE: This requires a user email address to be included in the account details.


If no email address is supplied, no welcome email can be sent or it is the responsibility of the System Champion to deliver the log in information.


1.2.2 Login

To log into bxp requires some form of unique identifier such as a user name and a password. The unique identifier can be a name, mobile number, email address or any other piece of uniquely identifying text. The BE Client decides what details are to be used. BE supports numerous security log in configurations and the system can be configured to demand more than two pieces of information, if required.


To Log In to BE, the user needs to go to the appropriate log in page and provide their username and password. Logging in can also be performed automatically.


The log in web address is quite long (deliberately so, to improve security) so it is advisable to create a shortcut on your desktop to speed things up. Alternatively you can set up a Favourite in your Internet Browser. Please refer to your browser help files for how to create a favourite.


Password changing is an essential security process, changing the initially supplied password to something more personal and more secure; you will be asked to change your password after you have logged in for the first time.


The Main Menu is the first page the user sees after logging into bxp and the way it looks will vary depending on the requirements of the bxp Client. For example, the Background image can be modified at system or even user level. A Style Sheet is a specially formatted document which dictates the fonts, sizes, colours and other layout specifications. BE comes with a number of prebuilt style sheets but users and BE Clients can add their own. The language of a style sheet is called CSS or Cascading Style Sheet.


For more information on Style Sheets http://www.w3schools.com/css/


The Interface of bxp is made up of a number of horizontal bars, Interface Bars, which can be turned on and off. This allows extensive configuration of the interface so any BE Client can customise the system to their own requirements. For more information on Interface Bars Interface_Bars


When using bxp it is important to note that information is not saved until a “Save”, “Add”, “Edit” or “Delete” button is pressed.