Difference between revisions of "Retire/Unretire a User"
From All n One's bxp software Wixi
Philip Lacey (talk | contribs) (Created page with " == Introduction == The pricing model for the bxp software system has always been based on active users in the system. Systems are built with an agreed upon user limit that...") |
Philip Lacey (talk | contribs) |
||
| Line 42: | Line 42: | ||
PLEASE NOTE: Depending on the amount of time since the unretired user has been active in the system, it may be necessary to grant them access to any material or forms that have been created since they last logged in. | PLEASE NOTE: Depending on the amount of time since the unretired user has been active in the system, it may be necessary to grant them access to any material or forms that have been created since they last logged in. | ||
| + | |||
| + | |||
| + | [[Category:Topic:Security]] | ||
| + | [[Category:Module Specific:System Access Management]] | ||
Revision as of 14:43, 4 May 2015
1 Introduction
The pricing model for the bxp software system has always been based on active users in the system. Systems are built with an agreed upon user limit that cannot be breached. What happens then, if a user has left employment and is no longer using the system? The 'Retire User' function allows System Champions to remove inactive users from the system, to allow other new users to be introduced.
Now think, what if a person that had previously left comes back, or if a user that had left a department comes back again? Instead of going through the hassle of having to re-enter all of the details again, there is a function in the bxp software system, that allows you to 'unretire' users and make them active again.
PLEASE NOTE: Only a System Champion with sufficient access rights, will be able to complete either of these two processes.
2 How to Retire a User
Please follow these steps:
1) From the Main Menu, go to System Access Management
| User Administration | Edit User - Security Details
2) Load the profile of the user in question
3) From the Status drop down menu, select the Retired option | scroll to the bottom | click Update the User
Please note that when a user is retired, that person's name will not be selectable in the system. It will however appear in any historical reports that may be run for the period during which they were active
3 How to Unretire a User
Please follow these steps:
1) From the Main Menu, go to System Access Management
| System Management | Edit Retired Users
2) Type in the Firstname and/or Surname of the retired user (or simply click 'Lookup User' to get a list of all retired users and select the required name) | press enter
3) In the Status drop down menu, select the Retired option
4) In this screen it is possible to edit the users access rights to the various modules available. If they are to have exactly the same access that they used to, scroll to the bottom of the page and click 'Update the User'
PLEASE NOTE: Depending on the amount of time since the unretired user has been active in the system, it may be necessary to grant them access to any material or forms that have been created since they last logged in.